Denver in December

excerpt from my book: Paraiso Escondido (Hidden Paradise)

Margie Willis
10 min read5 days ago
Vintage photo of Paraiso Hot Springs cabin from author’s archives

I lived in a rustic cabin at Paraiso Hot Springs in the untamed Santa Lucia Mountains for a decade during the 1990’s.

This legendary resort has been shuttered for twenty-five years due to permitting issues and disputes between developers and the historical society. Sadly, Paraiso Hot Springs will never be the same.

To document what a rare and wondrous experience it was to live at this rustic refuge during its heyday, I wrote two fictional books a few years back based on my profound life experience and also wildly embellished per my usual.

This chapter is based on an actual engineering design job I held during college. Back when drafting was done with pencils, not AutoCAD!

Links to my books are below, available from Amazon in many countries, (although these links are for Amazon USA).

Chapter 2: Denver in December

“You doing anything pressing right now?” Ailani picks up his key ring clogged with keys, tools and handy implements.

“No, Haku, why?” Meg rests her drafting pencil on her lip, waiting to see what her boss has in mind for her to do next.

--

--